Cheney Cello Studios Calendar of Events

FALL 2018 and SPRING 2019 Calendar of Events



*Wednesday, September 5th  -Opening Group Classes – All students Pre-Twinkle through Book 4 – special schedule for this Group only – 4-5pm Pre-twinkle to Book 2; 5pm-6pm Books 3 and 4;  Group Classes are always held at the Cheney home at 7522 South Country Manor Road, Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121

*Thursday, September 6th – Opening Group Classes for Books 5 and up – 4-5:30pm Classes, 5:30pm Informal Recital and Pizza; all classes held at the Cheney's home 7522 S. Country Manor Road, Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121

Monday, September 10 – Private lessons begin

FREE CONCERT!  Elliott Cheney, cello, Larry Gee, piano, Susan Goodfellow, flute in concert at the Assembly Hall Sat. Sept. 15th at 7:30pm

FREE CONCERT SERIES – The Works of Beethoven for Cello and Piano in Two Concerts: Elliott Cheney, cello and Larry Gee, piano, University of Utah Libby Gardner Concert Hall 7:00pm on Sunday, September 23 and Sunday September 30

Monday, October 8 – Friday, October 12th –  October Group Class Week

*Wednesday, October 10 – Group Lessons for Pre-Twinkle to Book 4 – usual schedule as September group

*Thursday, October 11 – Group Lesson for Books 5 and up – usual schedule as September group

Saturday, October 13th 10 a.m.  SAU Halloween  Cello Activity – Location to be announced

Monday, October 15 – Private lessons resume

Monday October 22 – Friday October 26 – FALL BREAK – No private or group lessons

Monday October 29 –  Private Lessons as continue

Wednesday, October 31 – private lessons as usual

Saturday, November 17 – Fall Solo Recitals (Location TBA)

Monday, November 19 – Make up Lessons for Wednesday after 2pm students (for Dec. 12 Holiday concert conflict)

Tuesday, November 20 – November 25th – No lessons: Thanksgiving Break

Monday, November 26th – Lessons resume

Monday, December 3 – private lessons continue

Monday, December 10 –Private lessons as usual – except Wednesday Dec. 12 students after 2pm will be made up on Monday, November 19th

Wednesday December 12th – Annual Holiday Concert – Rehearsal 4pm, Concert 5:30pm Location TBA All students and alumni are welcome!

Friday, December 14 – last day of private lessons of 2018

SPRING 2019 Cheney Cello Studios Calendar of Events

January Group Lessons:  Monday, January 14th to Friday, January 18 – No Private Lessons (Group lessons are held at the Cheney's home 7522 S. Country Manor Rd., Cottonwood Heights, UT 84121) Wednesday and Thursday schedules are the same throughout the year.

*Wednesday, Group Class Schedule:

3:30-4:00pm Pre-Twinkle/Twinkle; 4:00-5:00pm Books 1 & 2; 5:00-6:00pm Books 3 & 4

*Thursday, Group Class Schedule: 4-6pm Book 5 and Up; 6pm Informal Recital and Pizza follows

January 21 MLK Day, Private  lessons begin

 

February Group Lessons: Monday February 18-Friday February 22, No Private Lessons *Wednesday Feb 20 and *Thursday Feb. 21, Usual  Group Lesson Schedule.  

Monday, March 4 through Friday March 8 – SPRING BREAK – No Private or Group Lessons

Saturday, March 9 – Annual Cello Federation Performances at the U of U, Gardner Hall (requires separate registration early in January)

April Group Lessons: Monday, April 29 to Friday, May 3 – No Private Lessons

*Wednesday, May 1 and *Thursday, May 2 – usual Group Lesson Schedule

Saturday, May 11 Spring Solo Recitals (Location TBA) Everyone Involved!

Monday May 13 – Friday May 17 – PRIVATE LESSONS WITH ELLIOTT only; Carey will make up this week during June 10 week or at students' convenience

Monday May 20 – private lessons continue for both Carey and Elliott

Monday May 27-  Memorial Day – optional day for lessons as desired

Private lessons continue May 27 – May 31

Monday June 3 – Regular private lessons continue

Monday 10-Friday June 14 Group class week, no regular lessons.

June Group Lessons: Monday June 10-Friday June 14, no regular lessons.  Wednesday, June 12 – Pre-Twinkle – Books 4 usual Group Lesson schedule

Thursday, June 13 – Final Group Lesson of the year – Books 5 and up –usual Group Lesson schedules

Monday June 10 – Make up for Memorial Day as needed

Tuesday June 11 – Friday June 14 – Make up days for Carey's students (re: the week of May 13) except during Group Lesson times

Friday June 14, last day of Spring Semester.

Download the schedule (PDF Format)